Close this search box.

THE APPLES: ‘Kings’ LP release details + tracklist

Anyone who has heard what is probably The Apples’ best-known track (i.e. their instrumental cover of Rage Against The Machine’s Killing In The Name) will know what to expect from this – namely scratchy, jazz-inflected breaknology. This time around the ‘four-turntables and no microphones (but lots of instruments!)’ crew hook up with former James Brown cohort, Fred Wesley and Israeli world music kingpin, Shlomo Bar, on new LP Kings due next month.
(Out 13 September 2010 on Freestyle)

(PRESS RELEASE) THE APPLES present: ‘KINGS’. The brand new release from the nine piece instrumental Juggernaut. This quite stunning collaborative album is available on CD, vinyl LP and as a digital download

In a musical first for the band, they wrote, arranged and recorded music with specific collaborators in mind. They held sessions with two of their heroes; a congregation with two musical and spiritual father figures from opposite ends of The Apples rich spectrum: Fred Wesley – Pioneer of funk trombone in particular and funk horn arranging in general with James Brown, The JBs, Parliament/Funkadelic and The Horny Horns. SHLOMO BAR – Vocalist, Percussionist, Godfather of Israeli world music. Figurehead of the highly influential, ethno-fusion ensemble HaBrera HaTeevit.

The exciting process of these recordings exposed the band’s many roots and influences; elements of The JB’s funky foundations, African, Cut & Paste, Soul, Middle Eastern, and Dub are all clearly displayed on KINGS, strained through the band’s unique Decks-Horns-Soundboard Effects-Double Bass-Drums lineup.

This release signifies the next step in The Apples ever thickening groove stew, and the boys are intent on pushing it further and this summer will once again take to festival and club stages for another string of their relentless live sets filled with runaway grooves, countless twists and turns, dizzying transitions, spontaneous arrangements, the occasional reworking of early 90’s alt-rock fist shakers, and the basic jump-up-and-down crazyness for which The Apples are known stages, dancefloors, sound systems, playlists, films, televisions, cars and ears worldwide.
As the conspiracy continues, watch this space….. and bring a change of clothes!

The Apples present Kings – tracklist
1. Howlin’ with Fred
2. In the Air
3. All Right All Right
4. Kings
5. Batash (Alwoojdi)
6. Ani, Ata veHoo
7. Walking to the Palace
8. Banana Jam

The Apples – Myspace

Leave a Reply