Close this search box.

VARIOUS: Carnibal Records 002 (2012)

The carnival continues as the Carnibal Records 002 float appears on the horizon. This time around things are ever so slightly more chilled – you know – it’s still a party but they’ve had a rum or two. Thus Palov and Panama Cardoon, Kill Emil and Monetrik all have a gentle shimmy through their latin music collections in a way that calls gently to the hips – which, as you know, never lie. However, it’s Daytoner who showboats around like the carnival queen as if wearing a thong, a few ostrich feathers and little else with his breakbeat boogaloo banger aptly titled Bang Bang. It is of course a rework of Joe Cuba’s boogaloo hit Bang Bang and it does sound rather excellent with a fat beat behind it. Boom! Incidentally, there used to be a café in Bristol called Joe Cuba’s. Just sayin.
(Out 20 March on Carnibal Records)

Bang Bang by Daytoner

Carnibal 002 , Various Artists (snippet), Out 20/03 On Juno by Carnibal Records

Leave a Reply