Tag Archives: The Beatnuts

THE BEATNUTS: ‘Off The Books’ 7″ (2017)

off-the-books-the-beatnutsGet On Down hope to be making mad money on the books this year by continuing to provide vital services to 45-playing hip-hop djs. This time it’s with a first-ever seven inch release of The Beatnuts‘ ’97 cut Off The Books which featured fellow latino emcees Big Pun and Cuban Link. Much is made of Pun’s opening verse and the track was also Cuban Link’s first on-record performance

THE BEATNUTS feat. BIG PUN & CUBAN LINX: Off The Books (Maars Reggae Refix)(2013) Free download

Rating: ★★★★★ Boooom! Off The Books? Off the hook more like! Between ‘official’ reggae/ hip-hop booty releases, mad man Maars likes nothing better than to release completely unofficial reggae/hip-hop booty releases. Like this massive rework of The Beatnuts’ Big Pun and Cuban Linx featuring Off The Books. In the original (and indeed in this) Psycho Les, Juju and pals discussed making money ‘off

RECORDKINGZ: Heavyweight – 2009 – Album review

Rating: ★★★★½

Heavyweight piles into the hip-hop fray in a very similar way to Jake One’s White Van Music last year. By this I mean that it finds a talented producer hooking up with a host of talented MCs and dropping dope phatness. It’s even possible that Juliano (formerly one half of 90s duo The Creators), arguably has the edge on Jake One and that this has the potential to give a kick up the arse to a few flagging careers, proving once again that the music industry (and to some extent the public’s) obsession with rapper-cult-of-personality is forgetting one vital thing. It doesn’t matter how good the lyrics, nobody ever danced to poetry. When was the last time you heard a proper jump-up hip hop track anyway? The underground has been plagued by masturbatory production for too long – even if there has been some lyrical insanity. On the other hand, the mainstream shits out club beats like its got diarrhoea – but is plagued by lyrical inanity. This isn’t to say that everything on here will light fires under people’s feet – simply that Juliano remembers one of the key original premises of hip-hop. Move the crowd.
One of two promo singles for Heavyweight, Beatnuts’ vehicle Rock Ya Shoulders is exactly what I’m talking about – the best thing the Beatnuts have done since Watch Out Now and about the best thing for hip-hop dance floors since then too. Sampling an old funk 45 by New Orleans act Salt, the drums get a steroid injection and The Beatnuts cap it with effortless flow, “Keep on spitting that ‘me so fly shit’ and end up missing on some CSI shit’” and a classic vocal hook. The other big club banger on the LP is actually the one that brings it to a close – Keep On which finds Chalice and Ruk riding high on a chunky slice of funk with a “Hey, ho,” chorus that recalls Naughty By Nature’s Hip Hop Hooray. First track on the LP is so-so collab I Cried with Tragedy Khadafi and brings to mind nothing so much as an early Dilated Peoples track – Joell Ortiz fares rather better on the rather more dynamic beat of Take A Walk With Me, which is next up. Stones’ Throws much-vaunted secret weapon, Guilty Simpson delivers tight rhymes on Hip Hop Throwback on a beat that features punishing snares and latin brass while uncharacteristically, Little Brother fail to make much impact on Playin To Lose. Aasim does a turn on You Been Warned near the end of the LP that doesn’t hold up too badly and West coaster Evidence appears on the very 90s flavoured This Is For My Peoples and (if Dilated Peoples floated your boat before they went really boring and shit) you might get on with this – it does at least take away the bland aftertaste of Evidence’s last EP. The ‘other’ promo single Heat probably got more press a while back because of the presence of Mobb Deep and, while it’s moody strings are a grower, it’s far from the best track here. Phil Da Agony, Montage and Mo Money’s consideration of unsavoury characters “Who the hell is out the front of my house/ If they knew that I was watching with a blunt in my mouth…“ on Bad Cats (hot female vocal hook, menacing clavinet loops) is far and away better, as is Da Money featuring Glasses Malone (strings and another wicked female vocal loop). Posse cut Keep It Coming is another one with a big brass sound and the combined talents of Craig G, Will Pack and K Major.
It would be foolish to expect less than superb production on this and Juliano does not disappoint. The most noticeable feature is the percussion (particularly the snares) which is stupidly heavyweight and DJs need to beware that any track from this will make whatever precedes or follows it sound pathetically wimpy. Granted Heavyweight doesn’t break new ground stylistically – much (if not all) of it could have appeared between ‘98 and now – mostly in a good way, occasionally in a not-so-good way and at times in an excellent way. What it does do is remind anyone who still gives a shit about quality hip-hop that if a job’s worth doing it’s worth doing properly.
Out now digitally on Recordkingz, CD soon and on vinyl…god knows…maybe when someone remembers that SOME people still play wax. Hint.

Listen to Recordkingz – Heavyweight

Recordkingz/ julinao Creator – Myspace



1. (NEW) T Bird & The Breaks – Esmerelda (Learn About It LP)
Massive bluesy funk groove – like Wilson Pickett fronting the JBs.

2. (NEW) Recordkingz (feat. The Beatnuts) – Rock Ya Shoulders (Single) (Recordkingz)
News Orleans funk sampling BANGER!

3. (NEW) Johnson & Jonson – Mama Told Me (Single) (Tres US)
LA rapper Blu gets to reminiscing over some psychedelic hip hop shit.

4. (NEW) Eddie & Ernie – Bullets Don’t Have Eyes (Single) (Daptone/ Eversoul)
The main source for cuts on Parker’s ‘Western Soul’ ’08 club hit.

5. (NEW) Mr Willis feat. Tones – Green Room (Unreleased)
Denver MC Tones spits big over Mr W’s speaker-worrying breaks.

6. (NEW) Daniel Merriweather (feat. Wale) – Change (Single) (Allido/ Columbia)
Signature Ronson production and a classic tune.
ListenRead Review…

7. (NEW) Laura Vane & The Vipertones – Steam (Single) (Social Beats/ Unique)
Cracking new soul sister cut.

8. (NEW) DT6 – Don’t Doubt Me (Single) (Starla)
Dirty breaks and Doors-style keyboard from Scots funksters.

9. (NEW) Chase & Status (feat. Kano) – Against All Odds (Single) (Ram Records)
Grime king Kano and the ‘Apache’ break. Gonna be massive.

10. (NEW) Eli Paperboy Reed – The Ace Of Spades (Single) (Virgin)
Yep. That’s right, the Motorhead track. Now comes with soul.

RECORDKINGZ (feat. The Beatnuts): Rock Ya Shoulders – 2009 – Single review

Rating: ★★★★★

This’ll be the other debut single off imminent LP Heavyweight from Juliano ‘Recordkingz’ (a.k.a. one half of production duo The Creators) – the first being Heat feat. Mobb Deep. The contrast is quite stunning. Where Heat limps along like a knackered tramp, Rock Ya Shoulders bowls in itching to get it’s toprock on. And where Mobb Deep sound like they couldn’t be arsed with the effort, Latin legends The Beatnuts sound effortless. One suffix and a whole world of difference. The fact that Juliano cannibalizes old New Orleans funk 45 Hung Up by Salt – making this sound like something produced by Diamond D in ’93 doesn’t hurt either. The first true hip-hop banger of the year. Wh-wh-worrrrrrrrrd! (Read RECORDKINGZ – Heavyweight – Album review – HERE)
Out now on digital. Vinyl/CD tbc.

Listen to Recordkingz (feat. The Beatnuts) – Rock Ya Shoulders

Recordkingz – Myspace