Monthly Archives: February 2010

PAMA INTERNATIONAL: I Still Love You More (Bongolian Mix) – Single release details + tour dates

Being the first new band in thirty years to sign to the mighty Trojan Records a couple of years back is fairly impressive credential I think you’ll agree. But then again the Pama International ska/ rocksteady/ soul collective’s revolving line-up is a virtual who’s who of classic rocksteady/ ska movers and shakers of the last few decades. In fact they’re kind of like the antidote to UB40. I Still Love You More plays atypically ‘on’ the beat rather than off it however, and emphasises their sunnier, soulier, pop side as they rope in mod-commando The Bongolian a.k.a. Big Boss Man organ-tickler Nasser Bouzida. I wonder if now’s a good time to point out that it does bear a passing resemblance to Good Enough by nineties indie-poppers Dodgy though…The release date is 29 March 2010 and the seven inch format includes a dub of the heavy-skankin Equality & Justice For All on the flip.
(PRESS RELEASE) Following their support slot on The Specials 30th anniversary tour, Pama International continue to promote the release of latest album ‘Outernational’:
PAMA INTERNATIONAL – Outernational tour pt.2
February 2010
19 Luton Hat Factory
20 Bournemouth Champions
26 London Brixton Hootananny +DJ Wrongtom
27 Bristol Start The Bus

March 2010
06 Frome Cheese & Grain +Dub Pistols
12 Exeter Phoenix +Dub Pistols
13 Plymouth Hippo
19 Southend Chinnerys
20 Harlow The Square

April 2010
02 Darlington The Forum
03 Leeds The Well
29 Belfast Black Box
30 Blaenau Ffestiniog Cell

May 2010
01 Hereford The Blue Rooms
02 Swansea The Garage
08 Labadoux Festival, Belgium
14 London Jazz Cafe
16 Bearded Theory Festival
28 Hebden Bridge Trades Club
29 Kelso National Scooter Rally

July 2010
17 Llangollen Festival

August 2010
11 Broadstairs Folk Festival
13 Vintage @ Goodwood
14 Boomtown Fair, Buckinghamshire

Pama International – Myspace

THE HAWK feat. Little Hannah Collins: ‘Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover’ single release details

Big Boss Man bassist and favourite The Hawk is back with a hot slice of authentic-sounding northern soul (Read review/ Watch video) featuring the long overdue return of former The Snugs/ The Heavy songstress Hannah Collins on Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover. And who better to release such a contemporary soul gem than Italian vinyl champions Record Kicks. Also, since its getting both 7” and digital format releases you can be all future-retro in your buying as well as your listening! Plus it’ll be out on forthcoming Record Kicks comp Mo’ Record Kicks – so keep your eyes peeled innit.

(PRESS RELEASE) Record Kicks is pleased to welcome new group THE HAWK feat. LITTLE HANNAH COLLINS, and to announce the upcoming release of their first single “Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover”, which is also the first single to be extracted from the forthcoming MO’ RECORDKICKS compilation. The man behind The Hawk is Scott Milson, (bass player of critically acclaimed UK funk band on Big Boss Man on Blow Up Records), who already released various tracks under this name, winning over numerous fans and securing airplay from DJs such as Rob Da Bank (BBC 1) and Steve Lamacq (BBC 1).
For this new project Scott teams up with former player/vocalist for The Heavy Hannah Collins to create “a slice of contemporary northern soul”. Much in advance of its release, “Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover” has already gained the support of Craig Charles (BBC 6) and Francesco Adinolfi (Rai 2), and will be available for purchase on digital download and 45 starting February 22nd, with “If You Wanna Be My Man” by Italian Hammond beat kings THE LINK QUARTET featuring new sister funk queen from the UK GIZELLE SMITH on the B side. Wasting no time at all since the realization of this first track, The Hawk is already back in the studio to record two other songs, soon expected out on RK, so keep an eye out for this and other tracks by this new outfit!
The Hawk – Myspace
Hannah Collins – Myspace

SHARON JONES & THE DAP KINGS: ‘I Learned The Hard Way’ single – free download

Now I’ve looked into it a little, there seems to be some confusion about when the new Sharon Jones LP I Learned The Hard Way is due for release – a matter possibly compounded by the fact that the first single to be released off the album is the title track. As a slave to funk it wasn’t so much a duty as a compulsion to follow the trail of confusion through a succession of blogs (including one called where I discovered claims for a release date of 5 April, 4 May, 5 May, and 6 June, among others. Eventually, heading straight for the Daptone website itself, I discover a post that states, “Get a sneak peak of the album and download the title track “I Learned the Hard Way” – immediately followed by the words “Coming April 6th 2010.” ….Er…right…so is that the LP or the single then? Daptone Records – hot on authentic golden funky soul, not so good with plain English. Still, while you wait for the single (and the LP) on vinyl you can always download (the single) below from Daptone Records. They only want your email off you and where’s the harm in that…?
DOWNLOAD – I Learned The Hard Way

Daptone Records

Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings – Myspace

FREEWAY & JAKE ONE: ‘Know What I Mean’ video 2010

First single on the highly anticipated Freeway/ Jake One collabo on Rhymesayers Stimulus Package (more details HERE), ‘Know What I Mean’ may come in low and slow, but it’s radar image is roughly the size of Minneapolis. Or should that be Seattle? Or even Philly? Whatever. It ain’t jiggy. Chek! Vid after links…
Jake One – Myspace
Freeway – Myspace

FOREIGN BEGGARS: ‘Get A Bit More’ videos + SkisM ‘Never Say Die Vol. 2’ DJ mix

Admittedly, it’s not like Get A Bit More was the monkey’s favourite track off recent FB LP The United Colours Of Beggattron (that would be the mighty Seven Figure Swagger), nor even the monkey’s second favourite (which would be the behemoth-beats of Contact)…in fact checking back the MB review referred to it as, ‘the synth-keyboard one’ – but that was before SkisM got his hands on it and turned it into spitting, screaming juddering monster. Don’t worry – the monkey ain’t gone all dubstep, but while we’re posting up these videos to the FB’s new single, and since SkisM’s involved and we were also supplied with a 60 minute Skism dj mix (DOWNLOAD SkisM DJ mix HERE) we thought we’d post that up too. Vids below links. SkisM one is flames. Don’t sleep!
Foreign Beggars – Myspace
SkisM – Myspace
Foreign Beggars – Get A Bit More (SkisM remix) video

Foreign Beggars – Get A Bit More (original mix) video